Domaine Olivier Pithon

Domaine Olivier Pithon

Olivier Pithon, the winemaker of Domaine Olivier Pithon, was already in contact with wine as a child.


First on his grandfather's farm, then with his older brother, who had already made a name for himself as a winemaker on the Loire.

This was followed by apprenticeship years in Bordeaux and in the Beaujolais wine-growing region.


For financial reasons, he initially did not think about self-employment as a winemaker. But then he happened to come to Calce, a small, then almost extinct village in the high hinterland of the touristically developed coast on the Mediterranean. Viticulture had long since lost its once great importance here. Many vineyards had not been cultivated for years, but they were still there. Olivier Pithon recognized not only the poor, but mineral-rich soils that were poor in humus and could imagine producing more elegant, finer wines due to the cooler climate, as it was possible a few kilometers away on the plain.

He scraped together every penny and, thanks to a small guarantee, was able to obtain a bank loan with which he bought a few hectares of vineyards and an old building in the center of the village in 2001.

 

Calce_das_Dorf

The village of Calce

The immediately set to work with the aim of practicing organic viticulture with strong influences from the biodynamic way of working from the start. Cattle are an important requirement for this, in this case it was first a cow that was given the name "Lais" (read about it in my wine dictionary). Later several others were added and also a horse to work the soil in the vineyards. All live outdoors all year round.

 

Domaine_Olivier_Pithon_LaisOlivier_Pithon_Pferd_im_Weinberg

 

 

 

 

 

Later he rented rooms in neighboring houses for the storage of bottled wines, as well as for an office.

The main task of a good winemaker, however, is to take care of the vines and the soil in the vineyards, especially if they have been neglected several years before. Olivier Pithon had to replace numerous old, no longer productive vines with young ones, clear an entire vineyard and, after a period of rest lasting several years, replant it with young vines. So that their roots could dig deep into the ground, he let them grow for 5 years without harvesting grapes. In this way he achieved that they absorb sufficient moisture and minerals in dry conditions and produce better organic wine.

 

Domaine_Olivier_Pithon_arbeitet-im-Weinberg

Olivier Pithon working in the vineyard, in denbackground the Pic Canigou

 

Please scroll down to order

Today there are 7 or 8 organic winemakers in Calce and apart from the small local cooperative only one conventionally working winemaker. The mayor of Calce told me this with pride when I wanted to visit Oliver Pithon again in June 2018, but couldn't find him at the address I knew. I learned that Olivier Pithon had built a new wine cellar with office, tasting room and a new residential building outside of the village with state and EU funding.
 
The annual grape harvest is still the highlight of a vintage and, for Olivier Pithon, a gift from nature. With all the joy that Olivier Pithon finds when relatives and friends from all over the world and of all skin colors arrive to help with the grape harvest and form a good team year after year, he is also aware that too small harvests are still possible young winery.

The afternoons in September are still too hot for the grape harvest, but when the dew of the nights has evaporated on the vine leaves and grapes, grapes are picked in the mornings and brought to the cellar in small boxes, where they become excellent organic wines.


Technical data of the Domaine Olivier Pithon in brief:

  • Founded in 2001, 15 hectares of vineyards, 35,000 bottles of wine per year.
  • Soil: slate, marl, clay and lime,
  • White grape varieties: Macabeo, Grenache Gris and blanc,
  • Red grape varieties: Syrah, Carignan, Grenache noir, Mourvèdre, cultivation method: organic and biodynamic.

Display per page
Sort by

Domaine Olivier Pithon Macabeu, Côtes Catalans IGP, organic wine white, from € 35.00

Product no.: 0333

38.20 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 50.93 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis3 days
bottle(s)

Domaine Olivier Pithon Cuvée Lais white, Côtes Catalan, from € 18.00

Product no.: 0335

18.40 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 24.53 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 3 days
bottle(s)

Domaine Olivier Pithon "Lais", C. du Roussillon, pure organic redwine. from € 18,00

Product no.: 0336

18.40 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 24.53 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 2 days
bottle(s)

Domaine Olivier Pithon, "Le Pilou" VdP Côtes Catalanes, organic wine, red, from € 35.00

Product no.: 0337

35.40 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 47.20 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 2 days
bottle(s)
*
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Domaine Olivier Pithon

Domaine Olivier Pithon

Olivier Pithon, der Winzer der Domaine Olivier Pithon stand bereits im Kindesalter mit Wein in Berührung.

 

Zuerst auf dem Hof seines Großvaters, dann bei seinem älteren Bruder, der sich bereits an der Loire einen guten Namen als Winzer erworben hatte.

Es folgten Lehrjahre im Bordeaux und im Beaujolais Weinbaugebiet.

 

An eine Selbstständigkeit als Winzer dachte er aus finanzielle Gründen zunächst nicht. Doch dann kam er zufällig nach Calce, einem kleinen, damals fast ausgestorbenem Dorf im hoch gelegenen Hinterland der touristisch erschlossenen Küste am Mittelmeer. Weinbau hatte hier seine einstmals große Bedeutung längst verloren. Viele Weinberge wurden seit Jahren nicht mehr bewirtschaftet, aber sie waren noch vorhanden. Olivier Pithon erkannte nicht nur die Humusarmen kargen, aber Mineralreichen Böden und konnte sich vorstellen, hier aufgrund des kühleren Klimas, elegantere, feinere Weine erzeugen zu können, alls es wenige Kilometer entfernt in der Ebene möglich gewesen wäre.

Er kratzte jeden Cent zusammen und konnte Dank einer kleinen Bürgschaft ein Bankdarlehen erhalten, mit dem er in 2001 einige Hektar Weinberge und ein altes Gebäude im Zentrum des Ortes kaufte.

 

Calce_das_Dorf

Calce, das Dorf im Roussillon

Sofort machte er sich an die Arbeit mit dem Ziel, von Anfang an biologischen Weinbau mit starken Einflüssen der biodynamischen Arbeitsweise zu betreiben. Dazu sind Rinder, in diesem Fall war es zuerst eine Kuh, die den Namen "Lais" erhielt, eine wichtige Voraussetzung (lesen Sie darüber in meinen Weinlexikon). Später kam noch mehrere hinzu und auch noch ein Pferd für die Bodenbearbeitung in den Weinbergen hinzu. Alle leben ganzjährig im Freien.


   Domaine_Olivier_Pithon_LaisOlivier_Pithon_Pferd_im_Weinberg

 

Später mietete er Räume in benachbarten Häusern für die Lagerung der Flaschenweine, sowie für ein Büro hinzu.

Die Hauptaufgabe eines guten Winzers liegt jedoch in der Pflege der Reben und der Böden in den Weinbergen, besonders dann, wenn sie mehrere Jahre vorher vernachlässigt wurden. Olivier Pithon musste zahlreiche alte, nicht mehr produktive Reben durch junge Reben ersetzen, einen ganzen Weinberg roden und nach einer mehrere Jahre dauernden Ruhephase neu mit jungen Reben bepflanzen. Damit sich deren Wurzeln tief in den Boden graben konnten, ließ er sie 5 Jahre wachsen, ohne Trauben zu ernten. Damit erreichte er, dass sie bei Trockenheit ausreichend Feuchtigkeit und Mineralstoffe aufnehmen und besseren Biowein ergeben.

 

Domaine_Olivier_Pithon_arbeitet-im-Weinberg

Olivier Pithon bei der Arbeit im Weinberg, im Hintergrund der Pic Canigou

 

Bitte scrollen Sie zum Bestellen nach unten

Heute gibt es in Calce 7 oder 8 Biowinzer und abgesehen von der kleinen ortsansässigen Genossenschaft nur noch einen konventionell arbeitender Winzer. Das erzählte mir der Bürgermeister von Calce mit Stolz, als ich Oliver Pithon im Juni 2018 wieder einmal besuchen wollte, aber ihn nicht mehr an der mir bekannten Adresse vorfand. Ich erfuhr, dass sich Olivier Pithon außerhalb des Orts einen neuen Weinkeller mit Büro, Probierraum und ein neues Wohngebäude mit Landes - und EU Fördermitteln gebaut hatte.
 
Die alljährliche Weinlese ist immer noch der Höhepunkt eines Weinjahrgangs und für Olivier Pithon ein Geschenk der Natur.  Bei aller Freude die Olivier Pithon emfindet, wenn Verwandte, Freunde und Freudinnen aus der ganzen Welt und in allen Hautfarben eintreffen um bei der Weinlese mitzuhelfen und Jahr für Jahr ein gutes Team bilden, ist ihm auch bewusst, dass zu kleine Erntemengen das Weiterbestehen seines noch jungen Weingutes gefährten könnte.

Die Nachmittage sind im September noch zu heiß für die Weinlese, aber wenn sich der Tau der Nächte auf den Weinblättern und Trauben verflüchtig hat, werden Trauben vormittags gelesen und in kleinen Kisten in den Keller gebracht, wo sie zu vorzüglichen Bioweinen werden.

 

Domaine_Olivier_Pithon- neu

Die Domaine Olivier Pithon

 

Technische Daten der Domaine Olivier Pithon in Kürze:

  • Gegründet 2001, Weinbaufläche 15 Hektar, Weinerzeugung 35.000 Fl./Jahr.
  • Boden: Schiefer, Mergel, Lehm und Kalk,
  • Rebsorten weiß: Macabeo, Grenache Gris und blanc,
  • Rebsorten rot: Syrah, Carignan, Grenache noir, Mourvèdre, Anbauweise: biologisch und biodynamisch.

Anzeige pro Seite
Sortieren nach

Domaine Olivier Pithon Macabeu, Côtes Catalans IGP Biowein, weiß, ab € 35,00

Artikel-Nr.: 0333

38,20 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 50,93 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis3 Tage
Flasche(n)

Domaine Olivier Pithon Cuvée Lais weiß, Côtes Catalan, Biowein, weiß, ab € 18,00

Artikel-Nr.: 0335

18,40 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 24,53 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 3 Tage
Flasche(n)

Olivier Pithon Cuvée Lais, Côtes du Roussillon, Biowein, rot, ab € 18,00

Artikel-Nr.: 0336

18,40 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 24,53 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 2 Tage
Flasche(n)

Olivier Pthon "Le Pilou" , VdP Côtes Catalan, Biowein rot, ab 35,00

Artikel-Nr.: 0337

35,40 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 47,20 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 2 Tage
Flasche(n)
*
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand