Mas Lasta

Mas Lasta

Lasta means last in Esperanto. In this case it is an 8 hectare vineyard on the heights of the Terrasses du Larzac. They are old vines from the former Saint Michel de Grandmont priory that cling to the top of the ridge that belongs to the Terrasses du Larzac appellation.

Anne-Laure SICARD is the winemaker of the Mas Lasta winery in Saint Privat, which she founded. She is a professionally serious young woman with a solid education and worldwide experience.


From a young age she was interested in plants and nature and soon also in wine. She began studying agricultural science at the University of Montpellier, which she called
Agricultural engineer graduated.

This was followed by activities in the following renowned wineries: Bodega Torres in Spain, La Solitude Châteauneuf du Pape, Château Latour in Pauillac. Then there is the term “flying winemaker”. As such, she was in Australia at the Lake George Winery, then back to the Rhone Valley to the Domaine Jean Luc Colombo, then to Uruguay to Vino DeLucca and finally to Canada to the Hidden Bench Winery on the famous Niagara Peninsula. In this way, she was able to process the grapes from six harvests into wine within three years and gain a lot of experience. During this time she never saw a spring that she missed.

She found it on her return to Montpellier, where she went in search of permanent residence nearby. In Saint Privat, an old medieval village, she discovered a wine cooperative that was about to come to an end, which had not yet found a buyer, but had a great vineyard with ancient vines on terraced plots that cast a spell over her. She accepted the challenge and took over this vineyard at the end of 2015 without a wine cellar and without tools and machines.

The people in the village understood that they wanted to revive a neglected old vineyard that was still worked by the hermit monks a hundred years ago and protect it from being cleared. So she finally found a wine cellar in 2016, in which she could produce her first own wine.
Today the organic wines of Mas Lasta are certified organic and available from us.

Mas Lasta

Mas Lasta

Lasta bedeutet auf Esperanto letzter. In diesem Fall handelt es sich um einen  8 Hektar großen Weinberg auf den Höhen der Terrasses du Larzac. Es sind alte Reben des ehemaligen Priorats Saint Michel de Grandmont, die ganz oben an den Bergrücken klammern, der zur Appellation Terrasses du Larzac gehört.


Anne-Laure Sicard ist die Winzerin des von ihr neu gegründeten Weinguts Mas Lasta in Saint Privat. Sie ist eine fachlich ernst zu nehmende junge Frau mit einer soliden Ausbildung und weltweiten Erfahrung.


Bereits in jungen Jahren galt ihr Interesse den Pflanzen und der Natur und bald auch dem Wein. Sie begann ein Studium der Agrarwissenschaften an der Universität von Montpellier, das sie als Agraringenieurin abschloss.

Es folgten Tätigkeiten in folgenden renommierten Weingütern: Bodega Torres in Spanien, La Solitude Châteauneuf du Pape, Château Latour in Pauillac. Als sogenannter „flying winemaker“ war sie in Australien in der Lake George Winery, dann zurück im Rhônetal zur Domaine Jean Luc Colombo, anschließend nach Uruguay zu Vino DeLucca und schließlich nach Kanada zur Hidden Bench Winery auf der berühmten Niagara-Halbinsel. Auf diese Weise konnte Sie innerhalb von drei Jahren aus den Trauben von sechs  Ernten zu Wein verarbeiten und reichlich Erfahrung sammeln. Während dieser Zeit erlebte keinen Frühling, den sie vermisste.

Sie fand ihn nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Montpellier, wo sie sich in der Nähe auf die Suche nach einer dauerhaften Bleibe begab. In Saint Privat, einem alten mittelalterlichen Dorf entdeckte sie eine vor dem Ende stehende Winzergenossenschaft, die noch keinen Käufer gefunden hatte, aber über einen großartigen Weinberg mit uralten Reben auf terrassierten Parzellen verfügte, die sie in ihren Bann zogen.

Sie nahm die Herausforderung an und übernahm diesen Weinberg Ende 2015 ohne Weinkeller und ohne Arbeitsgeräte und ohne Maschinen. Die Menschen im Ort haben verstanden, dass sie einen verwahrlosten alten Weinberg der vor hundert Jahren noch von den Einsiedlermönchen bearbeitet wurde, wiederbeleben und vor der Rodung bewahren wollte. So fand sie schließlich 2016 einen Weinkeller, in dem sie ihren ersten eigenen Wein erzeugen konnte.
Heute sind die Bioweine der Mas Lasta bio-zertifiziert und von allerbester Qualität bei uns erhältlich.