Château Capion

Château Capion

THE STORY OF CHÂTEAU CAPION


In the 20th century, Château Capion changed hands several times. In 1900 it was sold to the Wormser family of wine merchants, who were deported to Auschwitz in 1944 and perished there. In the sixties the castle belonged to the Salasc family, whose land had previously been expropriated for the creation of Lake Salagou near Lodève.


In 1996 the Bürhers moved to Château Capion and began to renovate and redesign the castle grounds, creating a fountain, a French garden, an ornamental pond and an Italian dovecote.

In 2016, Château Capion was bought by Oleg Chirkunov, who renovated the existing vineyards and initiated the conversion to organic wine.

 

Chateau_Capion_3


This marked the beginning of a new phase in the history of this beautiful property in the midst of a wild and romantic landscape, which was to tie in with more beautiful old times. At a time when wine was still largely produced without chemicals and the environment was still respected. Social life should also take place again at Château Capion. Today, regular wine tastings and popular and well-attended cultural events take place here.
 

Chateau-Capion-1


The original construction of the castle in the 16th century is mentioned in old manuscripts. At that time the agricultural estate (excluding the castle) consisted of houses and gardens, farmland, vineyards, olive groves, forests and pastures. They covered an area of ​​over sixty hectares, of which 12 hectares were covered by grapevines. This land is irrigated by a steadily flowing stream, the Gassac, which depending on the season can turn into a torrent that comes from the Cevennes.

In the 1880s, serious work began to restore the castle to its former glory, which was supplemented by the construction of large cellars and outbuildings; and at the same time, Mr. Keittinger, the owner at the time, added large cellars and outbuildings to the property.

When phylloxera hit France in 1863, wine prices soared and later decimated the Capion vineyards like so many others, Mr. Keittinger imported American vines that were resistant to phylloxera and grafted the remaining French grafts onto them. In this way he saved his winery.
 

THE CHÂTEAU CAPION WINE ESTATE

The original concrete tanks that were built into the wine cellar in the 1950s held 2,000 hectoliters of wine. In the meantime these have been replaced by thermostatically adjustable stainless steel tanks. Today the grapes of each plot and each grape variety are vinified separately. So-called micro-selections, i.e. small, particularly good harvest quantities from particularly good plots, are vinified in small containers of 25 hectoliters.

The major project to redesign and upgrade the winery began in 2017. The hot and cold water networks used to control the temperature during vinification are now computerized and the entire winery is connected to this thermoregulation system via more environmentally friendly heat pumps.

Today, wine is made with gravity flow, in which successive work steps take place at different levels and the grapes, must and wine no longer move mechanically with spindles and pumps, but more gently through their gravity from one level to the other.
 

Chateau-Capion-2
 

After all, high-quality oak barrels from renowned manufacturers such as Boutes, Taransaud, Darnajou and Chassin are used to mature the organic wines at Château Capion. They are available in different sizes (225, 500 and 1500 liters) and are specially selected for each wine. In addition, egg-shaped concrete vessels and amphorae are experimented with and used for fermentation and maturation of the wines in order to find out how these influence the purity and balance of a wine.

THE GRAPE HARVEST

The harvest is done entirely by hand. Each grape is sorted on the vine before it is transported in small boxes to the cellar and stored in a cold room for preservation. They are then placed on a conveyor belt and sorted again, whereby inferior grapes are sorted out.
All grapes are vinified separately for each plot. Certain grape varieties such as Grenache and Syrah are isolated in the vineyards to grow in micro-plots within a larger plot. The aim of winemaking is to select the best vines according to the nature of the soil and the quality of the grapes.

 

VINEYARD AND TERROIR

The Château Capion winery is a 45 hectare winery with a unique terroir. There is a difference in altitude of 200 meters between the lowest and the highest vineyard of the Terrasses du Larzac (the appellation) and comprises three major geological zones, namely Montpellier sandstone and clay, limestone gravel and alluvial silts. These habitats

These habitats, the ubiquitous biodiversity and the climatic differences in the vineyards of the Château Capion are nuanced in wines that express their origin in their strength and finesse.

In order to grow vines successfully, a thorough knowledge of the soil is essential. With the help of the soil scientists Claude and Lydia Bourguignon, every property near Capion was extensively examined and the soil structures were mapped. This allows you to react to the smallest deviations and to align the work in the vineyards accordingly.

Caring for the vineyard means respecting the delicate ecosystem of the soil. It also means careful cultivation of the vines. From driving out a stump of a vine to tying in cordons to fertilization, the opening of the fruit area of ​​the vine, everything is checked and done by hand. In addition, the estate has anticipated and promoted its certification in organic farming. All crop protection products used at Château Capion have been certified organic since 2016. The first organic wines from 2016, 2017 and 2018 that have been matured in the barrel for longer are officially organic wines in conversion and the fully certified organic wines of the younger vintages will also be available from us shortly.

 

THE GRAPE VARIETIES

Syrah, Grenache, Cinsault, Mourvèdre and Cabernet Sauvignon are the red grape varieties. Viognier, Roussanne, Vermentino, Chardonnay, Clairette, Grenache Blanc and Bourboulenc are cultivated for the white wines. The average age of the vines is thirty years.

 

THE SOIL IN THE VINEYARDS

In the upper vineyards there are cream-colored stones everywhere, some as big as cobblestones. These are lacustrine deposits of limestone, sandstone and Montpellier clays that store the warmth of the day and release it to the environment after sunset and promote the phenolic ripeness of the grapes. For this reason, most of the Syrah grapes come from this higher part of the vineyard with its clay-limestone soils and its subsoil of sand and loam for the top wines of Château Capion.

One floor below you go over the so-called central geological band of the property and step on sand, solidified pebbles and gravel. This slightly draining land is perfect for our Mourvèdre, Syrah, Grenache and Cinsault varieties.

On the lower level near the Hérault river, which can be seen through the trees in the valley below, you find yourself on clay and sand deposits. The white grape varieties are grown here.

Château Capion

Château Capion

DIE GESCHICHTE DES CHÂTEAU CAPION


Im 20. Jahrhundert wechselte Château Capion mehrmals den Besitzer. 1900 wurde es an die  Weinhändlerfamilie Wormser verkauft, die 1944  nach Auschwitz deportiert wurde und dort ums Leben kam. In den sechziger Jahren gehörte das Schloss der Familie Salasc, deren Grundstücke vorher für die Schaffung des Salagou-Sees bei Lodève enteignet wurden.


1996 zogen die Bürhers ins Château Capion ein und begannen mit der Renovierung und Umgestaltung des Schlossgeländes, legten einen Brunnen, einen französischen Garten, einen Zierteich und einen italienischen Taubenschlag an.
2016 wurde Château Capion von Oleg Chirkunov gekauft, der die vorhandenen Weinberge renovierte und die Umstellung auf biologischen Wein in die Wege leitete. 

 

Chateau_Capion_3

 

Damit begann eine neue Phase in der Geschichte dieses wunderschönen Anwesens inmitten einer wildromantischen Landschaft, die an schönere alte Zeiten anknüpfen sollte. An eine Zeit, als Wein noch weitestgehend ohne Chemikalien erzeugt und in der die Umwelt noch respektiert wurde. Auch das soziale Leben sollte wieder auf dem Château Capion stattfinden. Heute finden hier regelmäßige Weindegustationen und allseits beliebte und vielbesuchte Kulturverstaltungen statt.

 

Chateau-Capion-1


In alten Manuskripten wird der ursprüngliche Bau des Schlosses im 16. Jahrhundert erwähnt. Zu dieser Zeit bestand das landwirtschaftliche Gut (ohne das Schloss) aus Häusern und Gärten, Ackerland, Weinbergen, Olivenhainen, Wäldern und Weiden. Sie bedeckten eine Fläche von über sechzig Hektar, wovon 12 Hektar von Weinreben bedeckt waren. Dieses Land wird von einem stetig fließenden Bach, dem Gassac, bewässert, der je nach Jahreszeit zu einem Wildbach werden kann, der aus den Cevennen kommt.

In den 1880er Jahren begann man ernsthaft mit der Wiederherstellung des alten Glanzes des Schlosses, das ergänzt wurde durch den Bau großer Keller und Nebengebäude; und gleichzeitig ergänzte Herr Keittinger, der damalge Besitzer das Anwesen durch den Bau großer Keller und Nebengebäude.

Als die Reblaus 1863 Frankreich traf, die Weinpreise in die Höhe schossen und später die Capion-Weinberge wie so viele andere dezimierte, importierte Herr Keittinger amerikanische Weinreben die gegen die Reblaus resistent waren und pfropfte darauf die noch vorhandenen französischen Pfropfreiser. Auf diese Weise rettete er sein Weingut.


DAS WEINGUT CHÂTEAU CAPION

Die ursprünglichen Betontanks die in den 1950er Jahren in den Weinkeller eingebaut wurden, fassten 2.000 Hektoliter Wein. Inwischen wurden diese von thermestatisch regelbaren Edelstahltanks ersetzt. Darin werden heute die Trauben jeder Parzelle und jeder Rebsorte separat vinifiziert. Sogenannte Mikroselektionen, also kleine, besonders gute Erntemengen aus besonders guten Parzellen werden in kleinen Containern von 25 Hektoliter vinifiziert.

2017 startete das Großprojekt zur Neugestaltung und Aufwertung des Weinguts. Die Heiß- und Kaltwassernetze, die zur Temperaturregelung während der Vinifikation verwendet werden, sind jetzt computerisiert, und die gesamte Kellerei ist über umweltfreundlichere Wärmepumpen an dieses Thermoregulationssystem angeschlossen.

Die Weinherstellung erfolgt heute mit Schwerkraftfluss, bei die auteinander folgenden Arbeitsschritte auf verschiedenen Niveaus stattfinden und die Trauben, der Most und der Wein nicht mehr mit Spindeln und pumpen mechanisch, sondern schonender durch ihre Schwerkraft von einer in die andere Ebene gelangen.
 

Chateau-Capion-2

Schließlich werden auf dem Château Capion für die Reifung der Bioweine hochwertige Eichenfässer von renommierten Herstellern wie Boutes, Taransaud, Darnajou und Chassin verwendet. Sie stehen in verschiedenen Größen (225, 500 und 1500 Liter) zur Verfügung und werden ganz speziell für jeden Wein ausgewählt. Darüberhinaus wird auch mit mit Eiförmigen Betongefäßen und Amphoren experimentiert und für die Gärung sowie die Reifung der Weine verwendet um zu erfahren, wie diese die Reinheit und Ausgewogenheit eines Weins beeinflussen.
 

DIE TRAUBENERNTE

Die Ernte erfolgt komplett von Hand. Jede Traube wird an der Rebe sortiert, bevor sie in kleinen Kisten in den Keller transportiert und zur Konservierung in einem Kühlraum gelagert wird. Anschließend werden sie auf ein Förderband gelegt und erneut sortiert, wobei minderwertige Trauben aussortiert werden.
Alle Trauben werden parzellenweise separat vinifiziert. Bestimmte Rebsorten wie Grenache und Syrah werden in den Weinbergen isoliert, um in Mikroparzellen innerhalb einer größeren Parzelle zu wachsen. Das Ziel der Weinbereitung ist es, die besten Reben entsprechend der Bodenbeschaffenheit und der Qualität der Trauben auszuwählen.


WEINBERG UND TERROIR

Das Weingut Château Capion ist ein 45 Hektar großes Weingut mit einem einzigartigen Terroir. Zwischen dem niedrigsten und dem am höchst gelegenen Weinberg der Terrasses du Larzac (die Appellation) besteht ein Höhenunterschied von 200 Metern und umfaßt drei große geologische Zonen, nämlich Montpellier-Sandstein und Ton, kalksteinkies und Schwemmlandschluffen. Diese Lebensräume, die überall vorhandene Artenvielfalt und die klimatischen Unterschiede in den Weinbergen des Château Capion werden in Weinen nuanciert, die in ihrer Kraft und Finesse ihre Herkunft zum Ausdruck bringen.

Um erfolgreich Reben anzubauen, ist eine gründliche Kenntnis des Bodens unabdingbar. Mit Hilfe der Bodenwissenschaftler Claude und Lydia Bourguignon wurde jedes Grundstück bei Capion ausgiebig untersucht und die Bodenstrukturen kartiert. Dadurch kann auf die kleinsten Abweichungen reagiert und die Arbeit in den Weinbergen entsprechend ausgerichtet werden.

Die Pflege des Weinbergs bedeutet, das empfindliche Ökosystem des Bodens zu respektieren. Es bedeutet auch eine sorgfältige Bewirtschaftung der Reben. Vom Austreiben eines Rebenstumpfes über das Einbinden von Kordons bis hin zur  Befruchtung, der Öffnung des Fruchtbereichs der Rebe wird alles kontrolliert und in Handarbeit erledigt. Darüber hinaus hat das Gut seine Zertifizierung im ökologischen Landbau vorweggenommen und vorangetrieben. Seit 2016 sind alle bei Château Capion verwendeten Pflanzenschutzprodukte biologisch zertifiziert. Die ersten, länger im Fass ausgebauten Bioweine aus 2016, 2017 und 2018 Weine sind offiziell Bioweine in Umstellung und in Kürze werden auch die zertifizierten Bioweine der jüngeren Jahrgänge sind bei uns erhältlich sein.

 

DIE REBSORTEN

Syrah, Grenache, Cinsault, Mourvèdre und Cabernet Sauvignon sind die Rotweinsorten. Für die Weißweine werden Viognier, Roussanne, Vermentino, Chardonnay, Clairette, Grenache Blanc und Bourboulenc kultiviert. Das durchschnittliche Alter der Rebstöcke beträgt dreißig Jahre.

 

DER BODEN IN DEN WEINBERGEN

In den oberen Weinberglagen liegen überall cremefarbene Steine, manche so groß wie Kopfsteinpflaster. Dies sind lakustrine Ablagerungen von Kalkstein, Sandstein und Montpellier-Tonen, die die Wärme des Tages speichern und nach Sonnenuntergang an die Umgebung abgeben und die phenolische Reife der Trauben begünstigen. Aus diesem Grund stammen die meisten Syrah-Trauben aus diesem höher gelegenen Teil des Weinbergs mit seinen Ton-Kalk-Böden und seinem Untergrund aus Sand und Lehm für die Spitzenweine des Château Capion.

Eine Etage tiefer geht man über das sogenannte zentrale geologische Band des Anwesens und tritt auf Sand, verfestigte Kiesel und Kies. Dieses leicht entwässernde Land ist perfekt für unsere Sorten Mourvèdre, Syrah, Grenache und Cinsault.

Auf der unteren Ebene in der Nähe des Flusses Hérault, den man durch die Bäume hAu XXe siècle, Château Capion change plusieurs fois de mains. En 1900, il fut vendu à la famille de marchands de vin Wormser, qui fut déportée à Auschwitz en 1944 et y périt. Dans les années 60, le château appartenait à la famille Salasc, dont les terres avaient été auparavant expropriées pour la création du lac du Salagou près de Lodève.indurch im darunter liegenden Tal erblicken kann, befindet man sich auf Lehm- und Sandablagerungen. Hier werden die weißen Rebsorten angebaut.