Château la Canorgue

Château la Canorgue

 

The Château La Canorgue was transformed into an exemplary organic winery by Jean Pierre and Martine Margan from 1970 with a lot of idealism and diligence.

 

In contrast to many wineries that are called château, it actually gives the impression of a château. However, it was in a desperate state at the time. A small part of it could only be inhabited by Martin and Jean Pierre Margan with restrictions.

 

The way up from Martine and Jean Pierre Margan and their
Château La Canorgue

 

Anyone who has ever renovated an old building can imagine the effort and financial outlay it took to complete this project without a bank balance. Jean Pierre brokered insurance contracts in the mornings and Martine worked in the hospital to raise the necessary funds. In the afternoon, the vines that had not been tended for many years were cut back in the vineyards, or when they were no longer usable, cleared and gradually replaced with young vines.

 

Chateau_la_Canorgue_organic_wine-estate

The Château la Canorgue

 

A grape harvest that would have been enough to press the first wine was initially out of the question. At that time it would not have been possible to process them in the wine cellars of the Château without prior modernization. But that should change soon.

The Luberon wine-growing region did not have a particularly good reputation in France at the time. That was not surprising either, because the harvest quantities of 60 to 70 hl / hectare could only be achieved with a lot of chemicals and fertilizers. Meanwhile, at Château La Canorgue, 30 to 35 hl / hectare were used. As a result, their organic wines were much better and more flavorful than the wines of the neighboring wineries. And also BIO. What a revolution in a time when conventional viticulture was practiced on almost 100% of the entire wine-growing area.

Canorgue-Weinberg-am_Abend

Château la Canorgue, the vineyard view from the terrace on a sunny evening

 

As early as 1978, the Margans were voted Vintner of the Year by the Gault-Millau Wine & Gastronomy Guide for their excellent organic wine. Countless awards and medals from wine competitions in Paris, Macon, Avignon, and from the wine press including Coup de Coeur from Guide Hachette or the Revue des Vins de France followed every year. Proof of the reliability of the Château La Canorgue and the work in the vineyards and in the wine cellar.

A little later, the daughter of Jean Pierre and Martine Margan was born and christened Nathalie. We saw Nathalie a few years later when we were invited to an unforgettable dinner. It was a warm summer evening in the rear courtyard of the château, from which one had a wonderful view of the shiny golden vineyard rising like an amphitheater.

Originally it was not Nathalie's intention to devote herself to the subject of wine. She was interested in journalism, which she also pursued as a student for some time. Eventually she devoted herself increasingly to the winery and wine production. Her first self-produced organic wine from Syrah, Grenache, Mourvedre, which has since been called Cuvée Nathalie, soon followed. During a long training period, she took on more and more responsibility and now runs the Château la Canorgue independently, although she still likes to listen to her father's advice.

The film "A Good Year" with Russel Crowe in the lead role, filmed at Château La Canorgue, based on the book by Peter Maile and directed by Ridley Scott, further increased the popularity and demand for organic wines, especially in a romantic scene The red wine "Coin Perdu" served during the film became a "figurehead" and is hardly available anymore, also because the harvest yields of the old vines are getting smaller and smaller.

As with all my previous visits to Château La Canorgue since 1983, I realized again how beautiful this winery is, with which we have been working since the 1980s.

The vineyard area of ​​40 hectares, spread over many smaller plots, is harmoniously integrated into the wonderfully beautiful cultural landscape of the Luberon, in which not only wine but also fruit, vegetables and lavender are produced. Tilling the soil and caring for the vines with elements of biodynamic winemaking methods has always attracted the full attention of the Margan family. It was never their goal to achieve large harvests, but the highest quality of the grapes, and thus also of the organic wines produced.

 

Canorgue_Weinkeller_2

This is whee the harvested grapes arrive

With the construction of a new wine cellar, the plan of which was designed by Nathalie Margan, a further step was taken to carry out winemaking even more precisely than before, but also more gently. It became a round building built on or in a slope. Seen from the slope it looks very low, the shafts built into the ground are each arranged above the fermentation and storage tanks below. These shafts can be unloaded directly through the shafts by the vehicles that transport the grapes from the vineyards. The grapes are therefore gently transported by gravity and not by pumps or conveyors in the temperature-controlled tanks made of stainless steel. The working level with the fermentation and storage tanks is arranged in a circle and approx. 15 m below the level of the grape delivery. Nathalie wanted to achieve short distances from one tank to another, and thus achieve a more practical and time-saving workflow.

 

La_Canorgue_Nathalie

Nathalie Margan working in her new wine processing unit

 

The appellation (quality wine-growing region) Luberon is located on the north side of the Luberon Mountains as well as on the south side. The Château La Canorgue below the typical Provencal village of Bonnieux, with holiday apartments, hotels and good restaurants, is located on the north side and benefits from the rather violent Mistral winds, which are longed for by all winemakers after prolonged rainfalls to produce the grapes dry and prevent powdery mildew. On the southern side, the mountains in between act as a wind brake. This could be the reason why the organic wines of the Château La Canorgue are a little finer and more elegant than those from the south side of the Luberon mountains.


Display per page
Sort by

Château La Canorgue PRESTIGE, Mediterranée IGP, organic wine, red, from € 15,80

Product no.: 0313

16.20 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 21.60 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 2 days
bottle(s)

Château La Canorgue Viognier, IGP de la Mediterranée, organic wine, from € 12,25

Product no.: 0316

12.65 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 16.87 €
In stock
Delivery period 2 bis 3 days
bottle(s)

Château la Canorgue, 1 Coin Perdu & 11 Fl. Côtes du Luberon red, organic wine

Product no.: 0319

176.45 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 235.27 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 3 days
bottle(s)

Château La Canorgue Coin Perdu, IGP Méditerranée, pure organic red wine

Product no.: 0318

Due to the very limited availability, this wine can only be offered within a package of 11 other wines - see item no. 0319

39.50 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 52.67 €

La Canorgue Côtes du Luberon rosé, organic wine, from € 12.45

Product no.: 0320

12.85 / bottle(s) *
Old price 13.50 €
1 l = 17.13 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 3 days
bottle(s)

Château La Canorgue red, Côtes du Luberon AOC, organic wine, red, from € 12,45

Product no.: 0321

12.85 / bottle(s) *
Old price 13.50 €
1 l = 17.13 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 2 days
bottle(s)

Château La Canorgue white, Côtes du Luberon, pure organic wine, from € 12.25

Product no.: 0322

12.85 / bottle(s) *
Old price 13.50 €
1 l = 17.13 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 3 days
bottle(s)

Château La Canorgue, Côtes du Luberon AOC, organic wine, red 1.5 l, wooden case

Product no.: 0314

available from August 15

54.50 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 36.33 €
*
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Château la Canorgue

Château la Canorgue

 

Das Château La Canorgue wurde von Jean Pierre und Martine Margan ab 1970 mit viel Idealismus und Fleiß in ein mustergültiges Bioweingut zu verwandelt.

 

Im Gegensatz zu vielen Weingütern die Château genannt werden, vermittelt das Château la Canorgue tatsächlich den Eindruck eines Château (Schlosses). Allerdings befand es sich damals in einem desolaten Zustand. Nur mit Einschränkungen konnte ein kleiner Teil davon von Martin und Jean Pierre Margan bewohnt werden.

 

           Bitte scrollen Sie zum Bestellen ganz nach unten

 

Der Weg von Martine und Jean Pierre Margan und ihr
Château La Canorgue nach oben

Wer jemals ein altes Gebäude renoviert hat, kann sich vorstellen, welche Mühe und welchen finanziellen Aufwand es erforderte, dieses Vorhaben ohne Bankguthaben zu bewältigen. Jean Pierre vermittelte vormittags Versicherungsverträge und Martine arbeitete im Krankenhaus um die benötigten Mittel zu beschaffen. Nachmittags wurden die seit vielen Jahren nicht mehr gepflegten Reben in den Weinbergen zurückgeschnitten, oder wenn sie nicht mehr zu gebrauchen waren, gerodet und nach und nach mit jungen Reben ersetzt.

 

Chateau_La_Canorgue

Château la Canorgue

An eine Traubenernte, die ausgereicht hätte den ersten Biowein zu keltern, war zunächst nicht zu denken. Es wäre damals auch nicht möglich gewesen, sie in den Weinkellern des Château ohne vorherige Modernisierung zu verarbeiten. Aber das sollte sich bald ändern.

Das Weinbaugebiet Luberon besaß damals keinen besonders guten Ruf in Frankreich. Das war auch nicht verwunderlich, denn die Erntemengen von 60 bis 70 hl/Hektar konnten nur mit viel Chemie und Düngemittel erreicht werden. Währenddessen begnügte man sich auf dem Château La Canorgue mit 30 bis 35 hl/Hektar. Folglich waren ihre Bioweine wesentlich besser und geschmacksintensiver als die Weine der benachbarten Weingüter. Und dazu auch noch BIO. Was für eine Revolution in einer Zeit als der konventionelle Weinbau auf fast 100 % der gesamten Weinbaufläche betrieben wurde.

 

Bereits 1978 wurden die Margans vom Wein & Gastronomie-Führer Gault-Millau aufgrund ihrer vorzüglichen Bioweine zu  Winzern des Jahres  gewählt. Unzählige Auszeichnungen und Medaillen von Weinwettbewerben in Paris, Macon, Avignon, und von der Weinpresse u.a. Coup de Coeur vom Guide Hachette  oder der Revue des Vins de France folgten alljährlich. Ein Beweis für die Zuverlässigkeit des Château La Canorgue und der Arbeit in den Weinbergen und im Weinkeller.

Canorgue-Weinberg-am_Abend
                    Château la Canorgue, Weinberg in der Abendsonne vom Weingut aus
gesehen


Wenig später wurde die Tochter von Jean Pierre und Martine Margan geboren und auf den Namen Nathalie getauft. Wir sahen Nathalie einige Jahre später als wir zu einem unvergesslichen Abendessen eingeladen waren. Es war ein warmer Sommerabend im rückwärtigen Hof des Château, von dem man einen wunderbaren Blick auf den golden glänzenden, wie ein Amphitheater ansteigenden Weinberg hatte.

Ursprünglich war es nicht Nathalies Absicht, sich dem Thema Wein zu widmen. Ihr Interesse galt dem Journalismus, das sie auch einige Zeit studienmäßig verfolgte. Schließlich interessierte sie sich zunehmend dem Weingut und der Weinerzeugung. Bald folgte ihr erster, selbst erzeugter Biowein aus Syrah, Grenache und Mourvedre, der Cuvée Nathalie genannt wurde. Während einer langen Einarbeitungszeit übernahm sie stetig mehr Verantwortung und führt heute das Château la Canorgue selbstständig, wobei Sie immer noch gerne auf den Rat Ihres Vaters hört.

Der auf dem Château La Canorgue gedrehte Film „Ein gutes Jahr" mit Russel Crowe in der Hauptrolle, nach dem Buch von Peter Maile, in der Regie Ridley Scott, steigerte die Popularität und die Nachfrage nach den Bioweinen zusätzlich. Besonders der in einer romantischen Szene des Films servierte rote Biowein „Coin Perdu“ avancierte zum "Aushängeschild" und ist kaum noch erhältlich, auch weil die Ernteerträge der alten Reben immer kleiner werden.

Bei all unseren Besuchen des Château La Canorgue wird uns immer wieder bewusst, wie schön dieses Bioweingut ist, mit dem wir seit 1983 zusammenarbeiten.

Die Rebenfläche von 40 Hektar verteilt auf viele kleinere Parzellen ist harmonisch eingefügt in die traumhaft schöne Kulturlandschaft des Luberon, in der nicht nur Wein sondern auch Obst, Gemüse und Lavendel erzeugt wird. Der Bodenbearbeitung und der Pflege der Weinreben mit Elementen der biodynamischen Wein-Bau-Methoden galt immer schon die ganze Aufmerksamkeit der Familie Margan. Es war niemals ihr Ziel, große Erntemengen, sondern höchste Qualität der Trauben, und damit auch der erzeugten Bioweine zu erzielen.

 

Canorgue_Weinkeller_2

Hier erfolgt die Anlieferung der Trauben

Mit dem Bau eines neuen Weinkellers, dessen Plan von Nathalie Margan entworfen wurde, erfolgte ein weiterer Schritt, die Weinbereitung noch präziser als bisher, aber auch schonender durchzuführen.
La_Canorgue_Nathalie

                        Nathalie Margan bei der Arbeit im neuen Weinkeller des Château la Canorgue           

Es wurde ein rundes, auf und in den Hang gebautes Gebäude. Von der Ebene aus aus gesehen wirkt es sehr niedrig, die im Boden eingebauten Schächte sind jeweils über den darunter befindlichen Gär- und Lagertanks angeordnet. Diese Schächte können von den Fahrzeugen die die Trauben aus den Weinbergen befördern direkt angefahren und durch die Schächte entladen werden. Die Trauben gelangen so auf schonende Weise durch Schwerkraft  und nicht durch Pumpen, oder mittels Förderschnecken oder Spindeln in die temperaturgeregelten Tanks aus Edelstahl. Die Arbeitsebene mit den Gär-und Lagertanks ist kreisförmig angeordnet und ca. 15 m unter der Ebene der Traubenanlieferung. Nathalie wollte damit kurze Wege von einem Tank zum Anderen, und damit einen praktischeren und zeitsparenden Arbeitsablauf erreichen.
 
Die Appellation (Qualitätsweinbaugebiet) Luberon befindet sich sowohl auf der Nordseite des Luberon-Gebirges, als auch auf der Südseite. Das Château La Canorgue unterhalb des typisch provenzalischen Dorfes Bonnieux, mit Ferienwohnungen, Hotels und guten Restaurants liegt auf der nördlichen Seite und profitiert in weinbaulicher Hinsicht von den ziemlich heftigen Mistral-Winden, die nach länger anhaltenden Regenfällen von allen Winzern herbeigesehnt werden um die Trauben zu trocknen und den Mehltaubefall zu verhindern. 

 


Anzeige pro Seite
Sortieren nach

Château La Canorgue Cuvée Prestige, Mediterranée IGP, Biowein, rot, ab € 15,80

Artikel-Nr.: 0313

16,20 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 21,60 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 2 Tage
Flasche(n)

Château La Canorgue Viognier, IGP Méditerranée, Biowein, weiß, ab € 12,25

Artikel-Nr.: 0316

12,65 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 16,87 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 2 bis 3 Tage
Flasche(n)

Château la Canorgue Coin Perdu, 1 Fl. & 11 Fl. Côtes du Luberon rot, Biowein

Artikel-Nr.: 0319

lieferbar März 2022

176,45 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 235,27 €

Château La Canorgue Côtes du Luberon rosé, Biowein, Goldmedaille, ab € 12,45

Artikel-Nr.: 0320

12,85 / Flasche(n) *
Alter Preis 13,50 €
1 l = 17,13 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 3 Tage
Flasche(n)

Château La Canorgue Côtes du Luberon rot, Biowein, ab € 12,45

Artikel-Nr.: 0321

12,85 / Flasche(n) *
Alter Preis 13,50 €
1 l = 17,13 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 2 Tage
Flasche(n)

Château La Canorgue Côtes du Luberon, Biowein, weiß, ab € 12,45

Artikel-Nr.: 0322

12,85 / Flasche(n) *
Alter Preis 13,50 €
1 l = 17,13 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 3 Tage
Flasche(n)

Château La Canorgue Côtes du Luberon, Biowein, rot, 1,5 l in Holzkistchen

Artikel-Nr.: 0314

54,50 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 36,33 €
*
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand