Domaine Pommier

Domaine Pommier

Isabelle and Denis Pommier are two passionate winemakers who founded their own winery, Domaine Pommier, in 1990 in Poinchy, in the heart of the vineyards of the Chablis appellation. This meant converting the family-owned buildings, equipping them with wine presses, tanks and other equipment and machines, as well as partially replanting the existing vineyards and converting them to organic viticulture. Today they sell their Chablis organic wine on almost every continent.

Poinchy is a small town near Chablis, about 150 km northwest of Dijon in Burgundy. Chardonnay grapes are used here to produce white wines, which are famous worldwide for their complex mineral, fruity aroma and taste.

They owe these characteristics to the deep soils in the vineyards, which consist of deep layers of limestone and clayey marl and contain fossilized marine organisms. Chardonnay vines thrive on it in a relatively mild climate, provided they are not damaged by frequent spring frosts.

Domaine Pommier

Domaine Pommier

Isabelle und Denis Pommier sind zwei leidenschaftliche Winzer, die 1990 in Poinchy im Herzen der Weinberge der Appellation Chablis ihre eigenes Weingut, die Domaine Pommier gründeten. Das bedeutete, die familieneigenen Gebäude umzurüsten, mit Weinpressen, Tanks und sonstigen Geräten und Maschinen auszustatten, sowie die vorhandenen Weinberge teilweise neu zu bepflanzen und auf biologischen Weinbau umzustellen. Heute verkaufen sie ihren Chablis Biowein auf fast allen Kontinenten.

Poinchy ist ein kleiner Ort in der Nähe von Chablis, etwa 150 km nordwestlich von Dijon im Burgund. Hier werden aus Chardonnay-Trauben Weißweine erzeugt, die weltweit berühmt sind für ihren komplexen mineralischen, fruchtigen Duft und Geschmack.

Diese Eigenschaften verdanken sie den tiefgründigen Böden in den Weinbergen, die aus tiefen Schichten von Kalkstein und tonigem Mergel bestehen und versteinerte Meeresorganismen enthalten. Darauf gedeihen Chardonnay-Reben in einem relativ milden Klima hervorragend, vorausgesetzt, häufig auftretender Frost im Frühjahr schädigt sie nicht.