Domaine les Béates

Domaine les Béates

The Domaine les Béates is located between Avignon and Aix en Provence near Lam

besc and has retained the name of the 17th century despite all the changes in ownership. The story goes that it came from nuns who called themselves Les Béates (the Blessed), who at that time settled in the remote villages of Provence to teach children to read and write.

 

 

Pierre-François Terrat says you are born a winemaker or you become a winemaker like me. He grew up in Brazil and actually wanted to be a cattle breeder.

He later worked in international trade and first discovered the fascinating world of wine through the detour as a consumer (like many others) until he finally decided to become a winemaker. In 1996, he and his family were convinced of the location and quality of the Domaine Les Béates vineyards. They decided to buy it and immediately began to  to switch to organic viticulture. From the beginning, the aim was to produce the best organic wines of the Coteaux d'Aix en Provence appellation on almost 60 hectares over time.

Domaine_les_Beates_2Pierre-François Terrat knew from the start that this path would not be easy. He was therefore advised and supported by the Chapoutier family, a recognized family of winemakers who practiced biodynamic viticulture on the Rhone.

On our first visit to Domaine les Béates, Pierre-François Terrat greeted us dressed as a vineyard worker, and his handshake was appropriate too. We were expecting a well-groomed man in a suit, which would have impressed us less. During a tour of the vineyards, we could literally feel his enthusiasm and commitment to his work. It feels good to work with winemakers like that. Today, many years later, Domaine Les Béates with around 60 hectares of vineyards is the best address for very good organic wines.

Beates-FruehlingWhen I visited again a few years later in June 2018, his mood was gloomy and worried. For several years in a row the climate and the weather did not play along, either there was a frost in spring that destroyed all young shoots and flowers. The following year there were violent thunderstorms with hail that destroyed almost the entire harvest, then again years with great heat and drought with small harvests in terms of quantity. At this stage he was hoping for another loan from his bank and for normal vintages with normal harvests.

Beates_WeinernteHis wines are widely recognized as organic wines, but conservative, uninformed wine drinkers count on every cent that their wines cost more than those of their neighbors. It is a wrong world if you are still punished by having to pay the costs of the organic controls yourself with your way of viticulture, which protects the environment and produces residue-free wines. Meanwhile, conventional winemakers harm the environment without being held accountable.

It takes a lot of idealism to be a real organic winemaker who does his job honestly and not only meets the minimum requirements by sticking an organic logo on the bottle.

By the way: do you know Aix en Provence, a beautiful university town? It is the twin city of Tübingen and well worth a visit. Lambesc is a small, typically Provencal village with the Domaine Les Béates on the outskirts. Greetings to Pierre-François Terrat and his colleague Anabel, try the organic wines on site, which you can also buy. Avignon in the north, Marseille, Saint Tropez and the Mediterranean in the south as well as many villages and typical Provencal sites could be your destination for a holiday trip.

A virtual visit to Domaine Les Béates is also possible by clicking on this link: https://www.lesbeates.com/

 


Display per page
Sort by

Domaine Les Béates Les Béatines white, Côt. d'Aix, organic wine, from € 10,30

Product no.: 0280

10.70 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 14.27 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 2 days
bottle(s)

Domaine Les Béates "Béatines" rosé, Côteaux d'Aix, organic, from € 9,50

Product no.: 0281

9.90 / bottle(s) *
Old price 10.70 €
1 l = 13.20 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 2 days
bottle(s)

Domaine Les Béates "Béatines" red, Côteaux d'Aix, organic wine, from € 9,90

Product no.: 0282

10.30 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 13.73 €
In stock
Delivery period 1 bis 3 days
bottle(s)

Domaine Les Béates white, Côteaux d'Aix en Provence, organic wine pure, from € 18,85

Product no.: 0283

19.25 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 25.67 €
In stock
Delivery period 2 bis 3 days
bottle(s)

Domaine les Béates red, Côteaux d Aix en Provence, organic wine, from € 18.55

Product no.: 0284

18.95 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 25.27 €
In stock
Delivery period 2 bis 3 days
bottle(s)

Domaine les Béates Terra d'Or red, Côteaux d'Aix, organic wine, from € 32.60

Product no.: 0285

33.00 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 44.00 €
In stock
Delivery period 2 bis 3 days
bottle(s)

Domaine les Béates Terra d'Or rosé, Côteaux d'Aix, organic wine, from € 32.60

Product no.: 0286

33.00 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 44.00 €
In stock
Delivery period 2 bis 3 days
bottle(s)
*
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Domaine les Béates

Domaine les Béates

Das Weingut Domaine les Béates liegt zwischen Avignon und Aix en Provence in der Nähe von Lambesc und hat trotz aller Eigentümerwechsel den Namen des 17. Jahrhunderts beibehalten. Die Geschichte besagt, dass es von Nonnen kam, die sich Les Béates (die Seligen) nannten und sich zu dieser Zeit in den abgelegenen Dörfern der Provence niederließen, um Kindern das Lesen und Schreiben beizubringen.

 

 

Pierre-François Terrat sagt, man wird als Winzer geboren oder man wird Winzer so wie ich. Er wuchs in Brasilien auf und wollte eigentlich Viehzüchter werden. 

Später war er im internationalen Handel tätig und entdeckte die faszinierende Welt des Weins zunächst durch den Umweg als Verbraucher (wie viele andere auch), bis er sich schließlich entschied, Winzer zu werden. 1996 waren er und seine Familie von der Lage und Qualität der Weinberge der Domaine Les Béates überzeugt. Sie entschieden sich, es zu kaufen und begannen sofort, das gesamte Anwesen auf biologischen Weinbau umzustellen.

Domaine_les_Beates_2

Ziel war es von Anfang an, auf fast 60 Hektar im Laufe der Zeit die besten Bioweine der Appellation Coteaux d'Aix en Provence zu produzieren.

Pierre-François Terrat wusste, dass dieser Weg nicht einfach sein würde. Er wurde daher von der Familie Chapoutier, einer anerkannten Winzerfamilie, die an der Rhone biodynamischen Weinbau betrieb, beraten und unterstützt.

Bei unserem ersten Besuch der Domaine les Béates empfing uns Pierre-François Terrat im Outfit eines Weinbergarbeiters, und auch sein Händedruck war angemessen. Wir erwarteten eher einen gepflegten Herrn im Anzug, was uns weniger beeindruckt hätte. Während einer Tour durch die Weinberge konnten wir buchstäblich seine Begeisterung und sein Engagement für seine Arbeit spüren. Es fühlt sich gut an, mit solchen Winzern zu arbeiten. Heute, viele Jahre später, ist die Domaine Les Béates mit rund 60 Hektar Rebfläche die beste Adresse für sehr gute Bio-Weine.

Beates-Fruehling

Als ich einige Jahre später im Juni 2018 wieder zu Besuch war, war seine Stimmung bedrückt und sorgenvoll. Mehrere Jahre hintereinander spielte das Klima und das Wetter nicht mehr mit, entweder war im Frühling Frost der alle jungen Triebe und Blüten vernichtete. Im Jahr darauf waren es heftige Gewitter mit Hagel, die fast die gesamte Ernte vernichtete, dann wieder Jahre mit großer Hitze und Trockenheit mit mengenmäßig kleinen Ernten. In dieser Phase hoffte er auf einen weiteren Kredit seiner Bank und auf normale Jahrgänge mit normalen Ernten. 

Beates_WeinernteSeine Weine finden zwar als Bioweine große Anerkennung, aber konservative, uninformierte Weintrinker rechnen mit jedem Cent , den seine Weine mehr kosten, als die seines Nachbarn. Es sei eine verkehrte Welt, wenn man mit seiner Art Weinbau zu betreiben mit der man die Umwelt schont und rückstandsfreie Weine erzeugt, noch bestraft wird, indem man die Kosten der Biokontrollen selbst bezahlen muss. Währenddessen konventionelle Winzer die Umwelt schädigen, ohne dafür zur Rechenschaft gezogen zu werden.

Da gehört viel Idealismus dazu, ein echter Biowinzer zu sein, der seine Arbeit ehrlich verrichtet und nicht nur die Mindestanforderungen erfüllt indem er ein Bio-Logo auf die Flasche klebt.

Übrigens: Kennen Sie Aix en Provence, eine wunderschöne Universitätsstadt? Es ist die Partnerstadt von Tübingen und einen Besuch wert. Lambesc ist ein kleines, typisch provenzalisches Dorf, in dem sich die Domaine Les Béates am Rande befindet. Grüßen Sie Pierre-François Terrat und seine Kollegin Anabel von uns, probieren Sie die Bioweine vor Ort, die Sie auch kaufen können. Avignon im Norden, Marseille, Saint Tropez und das Mittelmeer im Süden sowie viele Dörfer und typische provenzalische Stätten könnten weitere Ziele für eine Urlaubsreise sein.

Ein virtueller Besuch der Domaine Les Béates ist auch möglich, indem Sie auf diesen Link klicken: https://www.lesbeates.com/

 


Anzeige pro Seite
Sortieren nach

Domaine Les Béates "Les Béatines" weiß, Côteaux d'Aix, Biowein, ab € 10,30

Artikel-Nr.: 0280

10,70 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 14,27 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 2 Tage
Flasche(n)

Domaine Les Béates, "Les Béatines" rosé, Côteaux d'Aix, Biowein, ab € 9,90

Artikel-Nr.: 0281

10,30 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 13,73 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 2 Tage
Flasche(n)

Domaine Les Béates "Les Béatines" rot, Côteaux d'Aix, Biowein pur, ab € 9,90

Artikel-Nr.: 0282

10,30 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 13,73 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 1 bis 3 Tage
Flasche(n)

Domaine Les Béates weiß, Côteaux d'Aix en Provence, Biowein pur, ab € 18,85

Artikel-Nr.: 0283

19,25 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 25,67 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 2 bis 3 Tage
Flasche(n)

Domaine les Béates rot, Côteaux d Aix en Provence, Biowein, ab € 18,55

Artikel-Nr.: 0284

18,95 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 25,27 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 2 bis 3 Tage
Flasche(n)

Domaine les Béates Terra d'Or rot, Côteaux d'Aix en Provence, Biowein, ab € 32,60

Artikel-Nr.: 0285

33,00 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 44,00 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 2 bis 3 Tage
Flasche(n)

Domaine les Béates Terra d'Or rosé, Côteaux d'Aix en Provence, Biowein, ab € 32,60

Artikel-Nr.: 0286

33,00 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 44,00 €
Auf Lager
Lieferzeitraum 2 bis 3 Tage
Flasche(n)
*
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand