Print

Château La Lagune, 3 eme Grand Cru Classé, Haut Médoc

Château La Lagune, 3 eme Grand Cru Classé, Haut Médoc

 

The wine-growing region Haut Médoc is closer to the city of Bordeaux than any other appellation in the Médoc. It takes barely 30 minutes by car to reach the village of Ludon. The impressive Château La Lagune with its expansive farm buildings on a slightly higher terrace has been located here since the 16th century.

 

Between the vineyards on alluvial gravelly soils and the Garonne River there is a wide strip called Palus, a type of soil which, although wet and very fertile, is not suitable for growing vines to produce quality wines.

The château was rated the third highest quality level in 1855, but during an eventful history with numerous changes of ownership, the original high Quality standards cannot be maintained throughout.

 

Chateau-La-Lagune

Château La Lagune

The beautiful building of the Château La Lagune was first built between 1730 and 1734.
The Sèze family acquired the winery for 52 years and in 1956 they sold it to Georges Brunet, who gave La Lagune a brief "high". The owner changed again in 1964 when it passed to the owners of the Ayala champagne house.

In 2000, the Frey family from Switzerland took over the Château La Lagune and invested large sums of money. At the age of 24, Caroline Frey, an oenologist trained in Bordeaux (best of her year), penetrated the Médoc, which had until then been considered a male bastion, and brought the Château La Lagune, which was on the decline, back on the right track.

 

  Chateau-La-Lagune-cave-a-barriques

Château La Lagune - Barrique maturing cellar

 

The critics, especially Robert Parker, were enthusiastic about their first vintage, the 2004, "Wow, this winery has "returned with resounding quality," wrote Robert Parker at the time. It produces wines that are better than anything La Lagune made during its glory days in the 1970s and 1980s.

Caroline Frey's says "The Bordeaux growing region needed to reorient itself."What is needed are better wines that are produced in such a way that they respect nature more.» The winemaker, who also studied organic chemistry, converted her business to organic farming in 2016 and to producing biodynamically since the 2022 vintage. The aim of this approach is, among other things, to improve the resistance of the vines and the soil fertility. Source: Neue Züricher Zeitung

 

Data from Château La Lagune

  • Size of the vineyards: 110 hectares
  • Type of soil in the vineyards: Gravel
  • Grape varieties: 60 % Cabernet Sauvignon, 30 % Merlot, 10 % Petit Verdot
  • Methode of farming and wine making: from 2016 organic, from 2022 biodynamically
  • Aging: 18 month in barriques, of which 50 % new ones

Display per page
Sort by

New Château La Lagune, 3eme Cru Grand Classé, Haut Medoc, organic wine, red, from 48,.0

Product no.: 0451

soon availabe

48.50 / bottle(s) *
1 l = 64.67 €
*
Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Drucken

Château La Lagune, 3 eme Grand Cru Classé, Haut Médoc

Château La Lagune, 3 eme Grand Cru Classé, Haut Médoc

 

Das Weinbaugebiet Haut Médoc liegt der Stadt Bordeaux näher als alle anderen Appellationen des Médoc. Man benötigt mit dem Auto kaum 30 Minuten um das Dörfchen Ludon zu erreichen. Hier ist das beeindruckende Château La Lagune mit seinen ausladenden Wirtschaftsgebäuden auf einer etwas höher gelegenen Terrasse seit dem 16. Jahrhundert angesiedelt. 

 

Zwischen den Weinbergen auf alluvialen Kieshaltigen Böden und dem Fluss Garonne befindet sich ein breiter Streifen der Palus genannt wird, eine Bodenart die zwar nass und sehr fruchtbar, aber nicht für den Anbau von Weinreben geeignet ist, um daraus Qualitätsweine zu erzeugen.

Dem Château wurde im Jahr 1855 die dritthöchste Qualitätsstufe eingestuft, doch während einer wechselvollen Geschichte mit zahlreichen Eigentümerwechseln konnte der ursprüngliche hohe Qualitätsstandard nicht durchgehend gehalten werden.

 

Chateau-La-Lagune

Château La Lagune

 

Das wunderschöne Gebäude des Château La Lagune entstand erst zwischen 1730 und 1734. Die Familie Sèze erwarb die Familie Sèze das Weingut und behielt es 52 Jahre in ihrem Besitz und verkaufte es 1952 an Georges Brunet, der dem Château La Lagune ein kurzes "Hoch" verschaffte. Bereits 1964 wechselte erneut der Besitzer, indem es an die Eigentümer des Champagnerhauses Ayala überging.

Im Jahr 2000 übernahm die Familie Frey aus der Schweiz das Château La Lagune und investierte beträchtliche Summen. Caroline Frey, eine in Bordeaux ausgebildete Önologin (Jahrgangsbeste), drang im Alter von 24 Jahren in das bis dahin als Männerbastion geltende Médoc ein und brachte das Château La Lagune, das sich auf Talfahrt befand, wieder in die richtige Spur.

 

Chateau-La-Lagune-cave-a-barriques

Château La Lagune - Barrique Reifekeller

Die Kritiker, allen voran Robert Parker waren von ihrem ersten Jahrgang, dem 2004er begeistert, "Wow, dieses Weingut hat sich mit durchschlagender Qualität zurückgemeldet" schrieb Robert Parker damals. Es erzeugt Weine, die besser seien als alles, was La Lagune während seiner glorreichen Zeit in den 1970er und 1980er Jahren gemacht habe.

Caroline Frey's sagt "Das Anbaugebiet Bordeaux habe es nötig gehabt, sich neu zu orientieren. «Gefragt sind bessere Weine, die so produziert sind, dass sie die Natur stärker respektieren.» Die Winzerin, die auch organische Chemie studiert hat, hat ihren Betrieb im Jahr 2016 auf biologischen Anbau umgestellt. Seit dem Jahrgang 2022 produziert sie biodynamisch. Das Ziel dieses Ansatzes ist es unter anderem, die Widerstandskraft der Reben und die Bodenfruchtbarkeit zu verbessern. Quelle: Neue Züricher Zeitung

 

Daten des Château La Lagune

  • Größe der Weinberge: 110 Hektar:
  • Boden der Weinberge: Kies
  • Rebsorten: 60 % Cabernet Sauvignon, 30 % Merlot, 10 % Petit Verdot
  • Wirtschaftsweise: ab 2016 biologisch, ab 2022 biodynamisch
  • Ausbau - Reifung der Weine: 18 Monate Fassreifung, 50 % neue Fässer

Anzeige pro Seite
Sortieren nach

Neu Château La Lagune, 3eme Cru Grand Classé, Haut Medoc, Biowein, rot, ab 48,10

Artikel-Nr.: 0451

in Kürze lieferbar
 

48,50 / Flasche(n) *
1 l = 64,67 €
*
Preis inkl. MwSt., zzgl. Versand